7 Common Spiritual Symbols. Do You Know Their Meanings?

Symbols are one of the amazing things that can leave a strong psychological impression in our minds just from their appearance.  Just from looking at some symbols, we feel love.  While others, we feel darkness just from being in their presence.

The list of symbols with spiritual significance is endless, but here are 7 commonly used spiritual symbols and their meanings.

1) The Hamsa

Hamsa is the Arabic word for “five” and represents the five digits of the hand.   The Hamsa is universal sign of protection, and is often combined with the Evil Eye to ward anyone who wants to harm you.  According to the history of this symbol, if anyone looks at you with evil intentions while you are carrying this symbol, they will be unable to cause you harm.

2) The Tree of Life

The tree of life has been represented by a number of different cultures and religions across the world.  In Christianity, it is seen as the tree in the garden of Eden that Adam and Eve picked the forbidden fruit from.  Generally, the tree of life is seen as a having a connection between the four earth elements (earth, wind, air and fire), and is a representation of the infinite connection of all things in creation.

 3) The Flower of Life

One of the main symbols of sacred geometry, the Flower of Life is seen to contain all of the patterns of creation within it.  Consisting of 7 or more overlapping symbols, the flower of life dates back to almost every ancient culture and is considered to be one of the sacred formations that creation arose out of.  Here is an awesome video Jordan made containing all of the information you need to know about the flower of life:

4) The Yin Yang

This signs represents the harmonization of duality.  It signifies the unity between masculine and feminine energies. The yin yang is a spiritual reminder that balance between the light and the darkness provides the most holistic approach to living a meaningful life.  The universe abides by the law of balance.

5) The Lotus Flower

A very important spiritual symbol in Buddhism along with several other religions, the lotus is generally seen as a sign of enlightenment.  The lotus flower has grown out of the dark, muddy water of materialism to open it’s petals to the sunshine of enlightenment.  This symbol represents the journey out of darkness and into transformation.  It is also a sign of the importance of detachment, as water droplets slide easily off the pedals.

6) The Ahnk

This is a well-known ancient Egyptian symbol of life.  The ahnk essentially looks a lot like a cross, but with a loop for the top arm.  It’s meaning is a bit debatable, but the most accepted meaning of the symbol is that it is a symbol of eternal life and regeneration.  It was often used in funerals and tombs in ancient Egypt.  Today, it is often carried by people as a sign of life and spiritual wisdom.

7) The Pentacle

This symbol is often used in the Wiccan religion, and is essentially a 5 sided pentagram with a circle around it.  This symbol is believed to be a protection against evil.  The top point represents the spirit, while the other four points represent the four elements.

Post any other spiritual symbols you can think of in the comments!

Steven Bancarz,

Team Spirit

4 thoughts on “7 Common Spiritual Symbols. Do You Know Their Meanings?”

  1. Under the “Tree of Life” symbol you imply that it represents the tree that Adam & Eve ate from. This is not true, as they ate from the tree of knowledge of good and evil, not the tree of life, which was supposed to grant immortality.

  2. The Wheel of Life Symbol is four d on multiple continents. Used mainly in Norse traditions it was adopted y some Celtic tribes and may go back to Sumarian era.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.